Things to be happy about

by thecraftaholic

Today I’m thinking about the law of attraction. How does it really work? It works in the manner I work it.
The universe gives me reflections of who I am. If I reflect unhappiness within myself, then that is what I will receive in various forms.
The best way to combat outside negativity is to be the change within yourself that you want to see in the world, as Ghandi said, “Be the change you want to see.” That’s what it’s about, isn’t it?
So just for today, I’m going to try to reflect joy.
Here’s a few things I’m happy about:

1. I’m happy about my apartment. It’s a nice space, and it really feels like home. I love my neighborhood. It’s quiet, and feels like a real neighborhood (as opposed to other “hip” areas of Brooklyn that frankly are just not for me).

2. I’m happy about my daughter. It’s amazing that a small person can change your life so drastically. Children have a way of putting things in perspective for you. Without her, I don’t know what I would be or do. She’s such a beauty. Truly.

3. I’m happy that I have a husband who likes to cook and doesn’t mind cleaning. It’s nice to sometimes let him do it. When I’m tired or worn out, I know that I can count on him to make a nice meal for us.

4. I love that I know how to do yoga. I’m lucky that I have a corner in my room where I keep my crystal garden, and I can just go and meditate and reflect on my life. Yoga is amazing. Kundalini yoga is what I practice, and I love it. It changes your life, truly. Yoga clears your mind of all the clutter and helps you focus.

5. I love my new computer. What can I say, I love it. It’s a Dell, and it’s super fast! I also love that I finally have ink in my printer. It’s nice to not have to manually copy a knitting pattern.

6. I’m happy about my craft corner. It is so nice to finally have a space all for myself and my endless stash of craft supplies! I love it. I have a nice vintage Singer sewing machine which I love, and a Big Shot die cut machine! I love it! I have a shelf with some of my favorite craft books, all my ribbons and glitter, and things. I love it man. I love my craft corner. My husband is going to put a cool shelf on the side, to help me organize my endless stash of stamps and inks and things.

7. I’m happy about Ravelry. I love that I can go there, and look up patterns, and socialize with other knitters and crocheters! I have met some people from ravelry, and for the most part, they are all really cool! I’ve linked up my blog there too, and I love that you can do that on ravelry.

8. I’m happy I know how to knit and crochet. Knitting totally rocks. I love the meditative affect of it, and how fun it is to just pass the time knitting. It’s funny that as a wife and mother I sometimes wonder how fun it would be to just be bedridden for a little bit so I could have time to just sit and knit. Obsessive, huh?
Knitting is a great way to work out your aggressions. When I’m feeling pissed off or angry or something, I grab my knitting needles, and work out my issues. I’m trying to meditate more while knitting. I love it. I get some of my best ideas while I sit there and knit. I am totally determined to get better at knitting.
My next feat? I’m going to try my hand at working with double pointed needles. I know, I know, daring. What can I say, I’m a thrill seeker.

9. I am thrilled and elated and excited and happy about my growing yarn stash. It’s only 2 bins and counting. I’m grateful for websites like littleknits.com and jimmybeanswool.com for always having sales on good quality yarn. It’s websites like these that provide yarn whores like me with too much yarn to choose from. Seriously. It’s bad. It’s an addiction, I’ve come to realize. It’s like crack, only with no side effects. It’s crazy. One day, I’ll have a closet of my own, in my country house, and it’ll be filled with yarn. And I’ll still want more.
Until next time, it’s the Craftaholic signing off…

