It’s not an obsession, it’s an addiction, really

by thecraftaholic

You know, the nice thing about crocheting is that you can use cheap, nasty yarn and still make it look fabulous.
Although I love to knit, I do also crochet. For some reason, knitting makes you want beautiful, high end yarns. And I do have quite a nice stash of yarns.
But I do love my cheap stuff.
One thing that gets me is that I am such a craft supply whore. I totally can’t get enough! When I have spare money, I’m not thinking about diapers for the baby, or late night snacks. I’m thinking about more stamps, more cards stock, or ink, or yarn. Or craft books. Or any sort of art supply. It’s really amazing how that works. I used to be such a bath & beauty supply nut. I litterally filled tubs of creams and bath salts and my own hand made soaps. And purses, and boots, and cute tops. But the more into art I become, the more I neglect my fashion sense! LOL. Not really. I always like to think of myself as a fashion forward kind of girl. But I do not know why, I just would rather buy art supplies than clothing! And at least I’m being earth friendly, by not buying clothing. I love clothing swaps.
You know you have too much yarn when you go to swaps and thrift stores to purchase much needed clothing but end up looking at sweaters that can be frogged.
That’s when you know your obsession becomes an addiction. Or when, you don’t think of your money in proper amounts, but in skeins of yarn or sets of stamps ($20? that’s 2 skeins of yarn, or 1 nice set of stamps!).
Well, given the choice, I’d rather be addicted to art supplies than anything else.
On another note, am I the only one thoroughly annoyed at The Big Comfy Couch? Ugh. Gag me. I’d rather watch Oswald, since the luscious Fred Savage does the voice of Oswald.
Until next time, it’s the Craftaholic signing off…

