Creative Motivation and Reaching for your goals

by thecraftaholic

I can’t believe it’s already October. For real, it has come so quickly!
Lately, I have been trying to get in touch with my inner self. You know, to find the core of who I really am. it’s not an easy journey, and most of us don’t ever really bother trying. We go on with our lives, doing what we are told.
But I had a wake up call. I just decided that in order to move on, one must actually make and take steps forward to really move on. So how do you do that?
Well, this is the eternal question, isn’t it?
I don’t claim to have the answer to this question, but I do know that in order to feel like I am moving on with my life, I had to decide to put myself first. As a woman, I get so focused on being a wife and mother that I neglected my own needs. I put everyone else’s needs first, and then didn’t even bother to focus on what I wanted out of life.
Wheather I thought I wasn’t worth it, or not isn’t even the point. Who cares, I think. The point is that I have decided to focus on me.
It’s hard to focus on yourself, especially as a wife and mother. You just want to take care of everyone else.
But you know, being creative helps. Ironically, I have been working on a sweater for my daughter. I have been getting better at crocheting, so I decided to try my skills at a sweater for my little one.
My goals in life for my career are centered in my creativity. Are yours? Do you find yourself putting your creative goals on hold due to your family committments?
This does tend to be the case many times.
So, here’s my advise: find a project to work on, to get your creative juices flowing. It may be hard at first, to find time, or to even get motivated to get up and do it. Maybe a trip to the Art Supply store will help you. Buy supplies for a new project, and see it through from start to finish.
It’ll help, I promise you!
Also, try to surround yourself in nature and be alone in nature sometimes. Go to the Beach, or to the Park. Ask the Universe for inspiration.
Until next time, it’s Craftaholic signing off.

