Writing to Heal

by thecraftaholic

I should start out by saying that really, I don’t come from this fabulous family of creative people who passed down their artistic genes to me. I learned most everything I know by teaching myself. I wish I had some great story about how my grandmother taught me how to knit and crochet, but no. I taught myself both, with some help from videos and books.

Creativity and having a creative outlet for me, has always been a source of healing. From an early age I had to deal with heavy emotions, and things that most children do not have to feel or go through , nor should they. No child deserves to be mistreated or neglected, but that is life for some children. That was life for me growing up. So, since I was never really taught how to deal with my emotions, I had to teach myself how to cope with them. This is no easy task, and it really it took me most of my life to realize that I had a lot of inner healing yet to do.

My father would listen to a lot of oldies like Paul Simon and The Beatles growing up. He would tuck me in at night, and sing “Strawberry Fields Forever” to me, or try to play along on his guitar sometimes to Paul Simon tunes. I loved Paul Simon’s music because of the way he wrote about his dark emotions, and loneliness and such. It was though listening to his music that I decided to write poetry. I kept a journal, and found that this to be my only way to cope with the emotions I felt. This is what opened me up to creativity and healing. I still had a lot to go; for years I blocked myself from truly healing.

Everyone has a source of healing within them: a source that shows you how to heal from your past and your pain. The issue is finding that source of healing within you. A lot of times as we grow into adulthood, we get so focused on going to college, working, or finding a vocation that we fail to realize that getting in touch with our source is the true key to our success. Most of us are too busy to listen to ourselves, to listen to our true self, so that we end up picking vocations that are not a match for us; we pick mates based on practicality rather than basing your choice in mate on a deep emotional and physical connection. So we become unhappy, because of the conscious choices we make- we trade our happiness for practicality and convenience.

Writing is an amazing tool for healing. As I stated before, I started writing due to my listening to Paul Simon tunes. In his music, he references how he writes poetry, and being a fan of his work at the age of 13, I decided I could write also. No one told me that I could, or trained me in any particular way. I just started writing. My first journal was a small red velvet bound journal with blank white pages. I was in sixth grade. I just started to write. No inhibitions. But that is how writing should be-no inhibitions, no one to tell you how you should or should not flow, or how it should or should not sound. Creativity is a source within us that needs to be tapped into. By restricting ourselves, what we do is limit our creativity.

It’s important to just allow the creative juices to flow while they are flowing. So that is what I did, and still do. I write every day. It’s not a religious thing, that I force myself to do, but an artistic challenge. And it’s actually, a therapeutic thing-taking out time every day to write in my journal and write about my experiences.

So then, what is writer’s block? Is it really that we are blocked? What are we being blocked from? Ourselves? Writer’s block is in fact, being blocked. But…what from? Are we blocking ourselves or are we allowing the world around us to block us? It can go both ways. We can allow the world around us to block our creative force, so that we in turn do not allow inspiration to flow though us. If we do this, so many things can block our creative force! Family, work, responsibilities, television, and life in general can block us, if we let it.

So how can we stop ourselves from getting “writer’s block”? I think the key is for us to listen to ourselves. Silence is an amazing thing. Sitting in silence, under a tree, in a park or in our sacred space, can work wonders to “unblock” our creative source.

Listen to yourself! Write down what you feel, and hear when you do. Ask yourself questions, and really listen to yourself. You hold the answers to the why, when and how in your life. You hold the key. You must simply find the answer within yourself. Silence, listening, and writing can help you do that. Just write and let yourself flow with nature. You’ll be surprised what comes of it!

