My new goal…

by thecraftaholic

So I have this goal now. One of my heroes is crafty chica Kathy Cano Murrillo. She’s awesome. She’s got all these books out on making cool latino themed crafts, and is hosting this way cool cruise to Mexico! On the cruise, she’ll teach you how to make all sorts of crafts, and it’s a cool way to meet her, and meet new crafty people. I want to go. Bad. I really think this cruise will be a load of fun. Here’s the problem: I am broke. So, thanks to my good friend Lenina, I’m going to fundrais using my soaps, and other crafty items! Cool, huh? I’m excited. I figured out that I will have to sell 280 bars of soap in order to pay for the trip (so my hubby can come too-I mean, what fun could it be without my tempermental hubby around to watch my beautiful rugrat).
That’s not so bad.
I looked up a new method of making soap. Well, it’s new to me. It’s an old school method for making soap. I normally make soap the cold process way, which is pretty easy. It’s just mixing the oils and the water/lye solution to the right tempuratures together, and then stiring until it traces. Then you pour it into the mold and wait for it to become soap in about 3 weeks.
Hot process is the old school colonial way. I love this method because you use less fragrance oil, and the soap is ready t use right away! You don’t have to wait. So I love it. So I made some today, thanks to the link I provided. This site has pictures step by step on how to make the soap, so you won’t get confused.
So, yippee! I’m happy. I have to make 5 loaves of soap each week for the next 6 weeks to have enough soap to sell. I better get craftin’! I can’t wait to post pics, and start listing them on my etsy shop.
Until next time, it’s the Craftaholic signing off.
Later kids.

