Prayer Beads

by thecraftaholic

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

My next project is based on a book that I have at home called “Pagan Prayer Beads” by John Micheal Greer. I love the idea of rosaries, and so this book is coo, because it gives you lots of ideas on different prayer necklaces you can fashion for yourself or a friend. Also, you don’t have to be pagan to purchase this book, I think. I mean, purchase it with an open mind, and look at the pictures and think of what you can do yourself!

Prayer beads are of course, meant for prayer. I use them during my mantra meditation and prayer time alone (when the baby is sleeping). I normally use catholic rosaries, or a small prayer bracelet I made. But I’d like to make a really cool looking prayer necklace.

I’ve decided to make these for Xmas and Yule this year. I’ll make the matching set-bracelet and necklace. A great and frugal place to purchase your supplies is The Oriental Trading Company. They have a really nice selection of beads and findings. I’m also going to look for some jewelry boxes-cardboard ones like the kind you get when you buy a gift-and package them in there!

A good place to start, if you don’t have the book, or can’t purchase it right now, is on About.com Jewelry Making. There, you’ll find lots of links, and ideas for making your own prayer necklace.

I’ll be buying the supplies in a few weeks, and I’ll let you know how I’m doing. For now, let me know if you have any ideas, or any necklaces you’ve made yourself!

